Title: Faithful Place

Author: Tana French

Publisher: Penguin

Publication Date: June 2011

Genre: Adult Mystery Fiction

Series or Stand Alone: Series, Book Three
Synopsis can be found here.

Tana French continues to impress me with her layered mysteries and haunted writing.
The first book in the series: In The Woods, is a creepy mystery that won many awards.
Book Three is another addition to this fantastic series.
Frank Mackey, a small supporting character that has popped up in the world previously, gets his own mystery to solve.
Faithful Place is Frank’s old neighborhood, a haunted poor town he fled twenty some odd years ago. He goes back only to find some things don’t change, such as his abusive family. But he also remembers the night he left, and the girl who was supposed to leave with him but never did. So begins his own investigation into his past, and solving a mystery that perhaps should have remained unsolved.
French’s stories are all haunting and beautiful, weaving Ireland and its people through like mythical beings. Honestly though, I think this is her best book in the series. Frank’s history is rich in detail, as is the town he once lived in. His family problems are laid bare, real and uncomfortable. The dialogue is beautifully written and I had to read slowly to get the full thickness of the words. I could hear the voices as clear as if they were next to me. And again, the writing, the mystery, it’s all done so well I forgot to eat, drink tea or feed my bunny. Seriously. I just needed to know what was going to happen.
This chilling and intense story will keep you reading through the night.
If you want to start at the beginning of the series, In The Woods is book one and The Likeness is book two. (If you are going to read either books one or two, read them in order. It makes a much more emotional punch if you do.)

But you don’t need to read either of these to enjoy Faithful Place. 

Review 10 One of the Best